Employee Directory

Quick Reference Guide

Academic Advisors

ABCDEFGHIJKLM – N – OP – Q – RSTUVW – X – Y – Z

A

Nasir Awill - Library Director
Main Building, L121
406-377-9414, nawill@dawson.edu

Back to Top

B

Justin Beach - Director of Financial Aid
Main Office, 104
406-377-9410, jbeach@dawson.edu

Lucy Beltz - Instructor: Early Childhood Education
Kristin Bilbrey - Accounts Receivable Assistant
Main Office, 105A
406-377-9423, kbilbrey@dawson.edu

Emmanuel Bland - Tutor, Assistant Men's Basketball Coach
Toepke Center, 113; Main Building, L112
406-377-9461, ebland@dawson.edu

Jeana Boysun - Maintenance

Main Building, 24
jboysun@dawson.edu

Virginia Boysun - Registrar
Main Building, 132
406-377-9404, vboysun@dawson.edu

Julie Brandt - Admissions Specialist
Main Office
406-377-9400; jbrandt@dawson.edu

Sarah Brockel - Assistant Vice President of Advancement
406-861-3321; sbrockel@dawson.edu

B.A., English
M.P.A.
Dawson Community College Alumna

-Assist in writing and managing institutional grants
-Develop and foster relationships with institutional partners and funders
-Participate in public outreach events
-Collaborate with DCC Foundation and Foundation Director on key fundraising activities
-Assist with fundraising projects

Katy Brooke - Associate Dean of Student Success-Interim
Main Building, 145
406-377-9445; kbrooke@dawson.edu

B.S., Montana State University-Billings, Communications

-Student Housing
-Student Life
-Student Success Services

Amanda Brown - Student Success Specialist
Main Office
406-377-9409, 406-356-6792; abrown@dawson.edu

A.A., American InterContinental University, Business Administration
B.S., American InterContinental University, Criminal Justice

-Prospective student communication
-Campus Visits
-Student Ambassador supervisor
-Mailings

Pete Bruno - Addiction Studies Program Director
208-972-1709; mcyf@midrivers.com, pbruno@dawson.edu

Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor

Tim Burdick - Adjunct Instructor
406-304-6619; tburdick@dawson.edu

B.A., University of North Florida, Accounting
MDiv, Liberty University, Theology

Back to Top

C

Suela Cela - Director of Enrollment Management
Main Building, 120
406-377-9403; scela@dawson.edu

Ashton Copp - Human Resources Assistant
Main Building, 111
406-377-9430; acopp@dawson.edu

A. A., Dickinson State University

-Benefits
-Student employee information
-Employment opportunities

Back to Top

D

Holly Dershem-Bruce - Criminal Justice Program Director
Main Building, L117
406-377-9432; hdershem@dawson.edu

A.A.S., Dawson Community College, Law Enforcement (1986)
B.S., Lewis-Clark State College, Criminal Justice (1988)
M.A., Washington State University, Criminal Justice (1989)

-Courses: Criminal Justice, Sociology, Political Science, Private Security, Law Enforcement
-Montana Board of Private Security member
-Western Regional Counselor to the Community College Section of ACJS
-President: Glendive Federation of Teachers Local #3402

Elizabeth Determan - Instructor: Coding, Full Stack Web Development
Kortney Diegel - Rodeo Coach
Toepke Center, 112
406-377-9417; kdiegel@dawson.edu

A.A., Dawson Community College
B.S., University of Montana-Western

Christina Di Gangi - Instructor: English
Main Building, L118
406-377-9415; cdigangi@dawson.edu

Marilyn Dutton - Administrative Assistant Instructional Services
Main Building, 131
406-377-9405; mdutton@dawson.edu

Back to Top

E

Sara Engle - Director of Workforce Development and Continuing Education
Main Building, 109
406-377-9441; sengle@dawson.edu

B.S., American InterContinental University, Criminal Justice

Back to Top

F

Carol Fifield - Instructor: Business
Main Building, 127
406-377-9435; cfifield@dawson.edu

Dina Fritz - Volleyball Coach
Toepke Center, 111
406-377-9437; dfritz@dawson.edu

Back to Top

G

Laura Garcia - Instructor: Agriculture
Ullman Center, 128
406-377-9464; lgarcia@dawson.edu

Back to Top

H

Dennis Harp - Executive Director: Dawson College Foundation
Main Building, 115
406-377-9425; dharp@dawson.edu

A.A., Dawson Community College (1977)
B.A., Mount Marty College, Health, Physical Education, and Recreation (1979)
M.Ed., Hardin-Simmons University, Counseling and Human Development (1988)

Mike Hunter - Instructor: Math
Main Building, 133A
406-377-9433; mhunter@dawson.edu

Back to Top

I

Chris Ingram - Instructor: Welding
Ullman Center, 015
406-377-9478; cingram@dawson.edu

Back to Top

J

Randi Johnson - Assistant to the President
Main Building, 122
406-377-9401; rjohnson@dawson.edu

Tami Johnson - Tutor, Assistant Softball Coach
Main Building, L112, Lower Level
406-377-9413; tjohnson@dawson.edu

Back to Top

K

Adeline Kariainen - Certified Athletic Trainer
Toepke Center, 141-142
906-370-5267; akariainen@dawson.edu

A.S., General Science
A.S., Health & Fitness Specialist
B.S., Athletic Training and Exercise Science

-Teaches ACT 191: Special Topics-Walking and AHAT 210: Prevention and Care of Athletic Injuries

Jennifer M. King - Controller
Main Building, 119
406-377-9458; jking@dawson.edu

B.B.A., Columbus State University, Finance
B.B.A., Columbus State University, Accounting
M.B.A., University of Montana (in progress)

Back to Top

L

Romeo Lagmay, Jr.- Head Women's Basketball Coach, Sports Information Director
Toepke Center, 106
406-377-9450; rlagmay@dawson.edu

A.A., Liberal Studies
B.A., Physical Education, Teaching Emphasis with Honors
M.A., Counseling and Educational Psychology: Student Affairs

-Supervision and direction of all facets of women’s basketball program’
-Managing athletic department website, all team statistics, social media, game day management, promotion and marketing of athletic department, liaison between athletics and media outlets
-Faculty member

Troy Legato - Custodial

Main Building, 24
406-377-9451

Jim LeProwse - Instructor: Welding, Women's Softball Coach
Ullman Center, 125; Main Building, Lower Level
406-377-9466; jleprowse@dawson.edu

Tsai-Ying Li - Instructor: Music
Toepke Center, 190
406-377-9408; tli@dawson.edu

M.M., Northern Illinois University
D.M.A., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Back to Top

M

Casey Malkuch - Maintenance
406-377-9451; cmalkuch@dawson.edu

Traci Masau - Vice President of Academic and Student Affairs
Main Building, 131A
406-377-9418; tmasau@dawson.edu

Phil McClure - Baseball Coach, Instructor: Public Speaking
Main Building, Lower Level
406-377-9492; pmcclure@dawson.edu

Michelle McKeen - Buc's Brew Manager
Toepke Center, 197
406-377-9439; mmckeen@dawson.edu

Mitzi Mickelsen - Adjunct Instructor
mmickelson@dawson.edu

Registered Nurse
M.S.N., Nursing Education

Scott R. Mickelsen - President
Main Building, 123
406-377-9406; smickelsen@dawson.edu

A.A.S., Ricks College, Beef Production Management
A.S., Ricks College, Animal Science
B.S., Utah State University, Agricultural Education
M.S., Utah State University, Extension Education
PhD, Iowa State University, Agricultural Education

As the College President, Dr. Mickelsen is the Chief Executive and Administrative Officer for the College and is governed by a locally elected Board of Trustees. He executes directly or by delegation all executive and administrative duties in connection with the operation of the College.

Denise Mittelstaed - Campus Store/Buc's Brew

Back to Top

O

Janelle Olberding - Director of Marketing and Public Relations, Adjunct Instructor
Main Building, 113
406-377-9444; jolberding@dawson.edu

B.A., University of Montana, English-Teaching
M.A., Norwich University, History

-Public relations
-Promotional campaigns and materials
-Advertising
-Digital marketing
-Spring 2019 Courses: NASX 105 Introduction to Native American Studies

Back to Top

P

Joe Peterson - Athletic Director, Men's Basketball Coach
Toepke Center, 113
406-377-9459; jpeterson@dawson.edu

A.S., Dawson Community College
B.S., Rocky Mountain College
M.Ed., Northwestern State University

Joe Peterson has had 3 successful years as the Head Men’s Basketball Coach at Dawson Community College. He took over in Jun 2015 for legendary coach Don Mast, who totaled 424 wins and 330 losses in his 25 years at the helm. In three years, Coach Pete has a record of 53-43 and guided the Bucs to the Regional Championship Game in 2 of his 3 years. In his first season, Coach Pete’s Buccaneers finished in 2nd place in the Mon-Dak Conference and reached the Region XIII Championship game, finishing just a few point short of qualifying for the NJCAA Division I National Tournament in Hutchinson, Kansas. This past season was his best season yet as the Bucs went 24-8, finished 2nd in the Mon-Dak Conference, and once again reached the NJCAA D1 Region XIII Championship Game. Out of over 200 schools in the NJCAA, Dawson finished the season in the top 20 in points, offensive rebounds per game, defensive rebounds per game, and total rebounds per game. They went 15-2 at home on the season.

Six of his players have been selected to the All-Conference team and six have been selected as All-Region. One of his players was chosen as an All-American. Coach Pete has also had good success in helping his players move on to higher levels. From his 2016-2017 team, 5 of the 6 sophomores went on to play at 4-year colleges.

Joe played for Coach Mast and the Bucs from 1994-1996. In his sophomore year, he captained the Bucs to a 22-6 record, as well as a North Sub Region Championship. He was named to the All-Region IX team and the all Mon-Dak team. He received the President’s Award during his graduation from DCC. Joe went on to finish his playing career at Rocky Mountain College where he was All-Frontier Conference first team performer and earned NAIA All-American honors. He was inducted into the Rocky Athletic Hall of Fame in 2011. At Rocky, he earned a Bachelor of Science in Math Education.

After finishing his playing career, he taught at Billings West High School and coached at Rocky. From there, Coach Pete moved on to coach at the Division I level when he joined Coach Mike McConathy’s staff at Northwestern State University in Natchitoches, Louisiana where he earned a Master’s Degree in Sports Administration and helped lead the Demons to their first ever NCAA Tournament appearance and first ever NCAA Tournament win in 2001.

After two successful years at NSU, he was hired as an Assistant Coach at Charleston Southern University working for legendary coach Jim Platt from 2001-2003.

In 2003, Coach Pete left his life in America to serve at a school for AIDS orphans in rural Kenya for what turned out to be 11 years. He worked as a teacher, coach, and administrator at Christ’s Gift Academy. In 2009, he started the Suba Lakers Soccer Club for girls in Kenya to develop their talents, teach them life skills, and encourage them to stay in school.

Joe married his wife Daneen in May of 2013, and they continued serving in Kenya until the end of 2014.

Coach Pete brings with him over 20 years of coaching experience at various levels, including 4 years at the NCAA Division I level. His focus as a coach is to inspire his players to give maximum effort, develop a positive attitude and work together as a team to achieve success in basketball, in the classroom, and in life.

What coaches are saying about Joe Peterson:

Buzz Williams at Virginia Tech says, “With his experience and success…he has been exposed to great systems and great coaches…Joe can handle the Xs and Os and will be good at preparing his team for success, but more significant than wins and losses, he understands the importance of preparing his players for success in life.”

Jim Platt at University of Tulsa says, “Joe is a very gifted individual who is an excellent college basketball coach…He knows the game extremely well and is an excellent teacher.”

Mike McConathy at Northwestern State University says, “Joe, an extraordinary person and coach, possesses so many skills to be a great leader and teacher of young men…Joe is a rare gem!”

Mark Slessinger at University of New Orleans says, “Simply put, Joe is one of the best…I can say with full confidence that he is a person of integrity and high moral character and has all the qualities that are sought after as a teammate, colleague and leader in higher education.”

Bill Dreikosen at Rocky Mountain College says, “You will not find a guy of higher integrity that works harder and understands what it takes to be truly successful in all of college athletics…Joe has a large network of basketball connections across the country and will be able to recruit high quality players to Dawson Community College…Wherever Joe has been he has raised the level of the bar…He’s a winner!

Kristi Powell - Campus Store Manager
Toepke Center, 110
406-377-9457; kpowell@dawson.edu

Back to Top

R

Tammy Reed - Accounts Payable
Main Building, 106
406-377-9402; treed@dawson.edu

Tom Reeves - Instructor: Math/Science
Main Building, 133
406-377-9438; treeves@dawson.edu

Mark Roe - Director of Information Technology
Main Building, 149
406-377-9422; mroe@dawson.edu

Back to Top

S

Ben Sandy - Head Cross County and Track Coach
Toepke Center, 107
406-377-9466; bsandy@dawson.edu

B.A., Dana College, Physical Education
M.A., University of Nebraska-Omaha, Health, Physical Education and Recreation

Lesa Schock - Instructor: Early Childhood Education
Dru Sebastian - Assistant Baseball Coach
406-377-9491; dsebastian@dawson.edu

Back to Top

T

Jennifer Temple - Instructor: Science
Main Building, 133B
406-377-9431; jtemple@dawson.edu

Todd Thompson-Maintenance

Main Building, 24
406-377-9451; tthompson@dawson.edu

Craig Tucker - Instructor: Corrosion Technology
Ullman Center, 126
406-377-9426; ctucker@dawson.edu

Back to Top

U

Jordan Ulrich - Online Enrollment Specialist
Main Office
406-377-9411; julrich@dawson.eduonline@dawson.edu

B.S., Montana State University, Business Marketing (2017)

Back to Top

V

Todd Vashus - Custodial
Main Building, 24
406-377-9451; tvashus@dawson.edu

Olivia Vester - Assistant Director of Recruiting
Main Office
406-377-9419; ovester@dawson.edu

A.S., Dawson Community College
B.A., Chadron State College, Business Administration-Finance

-High school visits and college fairs
-Prospective student communication
-Enrollment/admissions events
-Counselor relations

Back to Top

W

Leslie Weldon - Vice President of Advancement and Human Resources
Main Building, 112
406-377-9412; lweldon@dawson.edu

Jennifer Wheeler - Instructor: Art
Ullman Center, 127
406-377-9474; jwheeler@dawson.edu

Paige Wright - Assistant Women's Basketball Coach

Toepke Center, 108
pwright@dawson.edu

Jane Wynne - Coordinator/Instructor: Adult Education and Institutional Testing
Main Building, 020
406-377-9448; jwynne@dawson.edu

B.S., Western Washington University,
Certificate – Secondary Education

-Coordinate Career and Adult Education Program
-Assist participants 16 years and up to:
-Attain their HiSET/GED
-Transition to college or technical programs
-Improve employment prospects with career coaching and job skills training
-Coordinate testing services and proctor:
-Accuplacer
-ACT
-Journeyman/Master Plumbing Exams (Gainesville Independent Testing Services, LLC)
-TABE
-Dawson Community College Unified (DCCU) Staff President

Back to Top