BP 4-5: Transfer of Credit

DCC BOARD POLICY 4-5 APPROVED: July 24, 2023

EFFECTIVE: July 24, 2023 REVIEWED: June 23, 2023

NEXT REVIEW DATE: June 2026

REFERENCES: NWCCU Standard 1.C.8, MUS BOR Policy 301.5 & 301.10, BP 4-8

RESPONSIBLE DEPARTMENT: Dean of Academics

Dawson Community College reserves the right to accept or reject credits earned at other institutions of higher education. In general, the College accepts credits earned at institutions fully accredited by their regional accrediting association for colleges and universities, if the student earned such credits through college-level courses appropriate to the student's degree program at Dawson Community College. A minimum of 1/3 credits towards a degree or certificate need to be earned at Dawson Community College. The College will allow a maximum of 40 credits with a C- or better of transfer coursework to be applied toward a degree at Dawson Community College.

Transfer of credits received from campuses in the MUS, as well as the community colleges, the seven tribal colleges and regionally accredited independent colleges in the state of Montana will follow Board of Regents General Education Transfer policy.

Credit may be given for education received from non-collegiate institutions on the basis of recommendations published by the American Council on Education (ACE). Credit may be given for experiential learning or prior learning. The College will not grant credit for remedial or developmental courses.

SCOPE This policy applies to Dawson Community College.

PROCEDURES The College President shall promulgate such procedures as may be needed to

implement this policy.

History: 10/27/14; 8/26/2019; 7/24/2023