Phi Theta Kappa


Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society
Greater Northwest Region


Wisdom ~ Aspiration ~ Purity

Mission Statement
“The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students.  To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.”
Joining Phi Theta Kappa

Contact a chapter advisor to join or with questions.

Todd Knispel


To be eligible for membership:

  • you must be enrolled in a regionally accredited institution offering an associate degree program;
  • you must have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree program (part-time students may be eligible);
  • you must generally have a grade point average of 3.5;
  • you must receive an invitation to membership from the chapter at the college where presently enrolled;
  • you must adhere to the moral standards of the society.

One-time enrollment fee (varies from chapter to chapter)

  • National dues are $55.00.
  • Regional dues are $5.00.
  • There are no local chapter dues.
Dawson Community College Phi Theta Kappa
The Alpha Xi Epsilon chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society was chartered March 1, 1988 at Dawson Community College.  Bylaws were accepted on January 1, 1992.

On the National level
According to the official Phi Theta Kappa web site, “Phi Theta Kappa traces its beginnings to a Society that originated with six charter members under the name of Kappa Phi Omicron at Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri, in 1910.  At a meeting of the presidents of the Missouri junior colleges for women in 1918, it was decided to organize a new honorary society, chapters of which would have a common character, stand, and similarity of organization.”  The name Phi Theta Kappa was adopted at that time.  In 1926, Phi Theta Kappa expanded its reaches to colleges outside of Missouri.  In 1929, the American Association of Community Colleges recognized Phi Theta Kappa as the official Honor Society for two year colleges.

The founders modeled the Society after the Senior Honor Society, Phi Beta Kappa.  The name “Phi Theta Kappa” was taken from the initial letters of the three Greek words meaning “wisdom”, “aspiration”, and “purity”.

Phi Theta Kappa Key

Member Benefits
  • More than $36 million in transfer scholarships
  • Members may wear the Society’s honor cord at graduation commencement ceremonies, distinguishing them as a member of Phi Theta Kappa
  • Members of Phi Theta Kappa may affix the Society’s Gold Diploma Seal to their two-year college diploma
  • All members receive the prestigious Golden Key Membership Pin
  • Letters of recommendation sent from the Society to potential employers, admissions officials or scholarship committees
  • Participation in Leadership Development Programs
  • Automatic nomination to the National Dean’s List
  • Transfer Scholarships
  • Access to the eScholarship Directory

Dawson Community College
Phi Theta Kappa National Honor Society
Greater Northwest Region


2013 Inductees
Karen Ask
JC Bird
Joseph Bukowski
Stephanie Clinton
Rebecca Davis
Tiffany Earl
Haylee Gallegos
Isabella Heaps
Rebecca Kreilaus
Keturah Lund
DeLona Mitchell
Keela Nedens
Emily Peabody
Billi Jean Petermann
Nicole Redfield
Jessie Ringen
Taylor Rockafellow
Seth Sanguins
Jesse Schaaf
Janniqua Thomas
Amy Van Hienen
Jaden Welsh

2012 Inductees
Aaron Canen
Shelby Cole
Tammatha Ehret
Katelyn Lyons
Kallie Madler
NaTasha Mathis
Carrie Scott
Victoria Shoopman

2011 Inductees
Cassidy Damn
Senja Kukowski
Ariel Lehr
Kylee O’Dea
Jeannette Oliphant
Alissa Wynne

2010 Inductees
Donald Bauman / Chapter President
Suela Cela / VP of Leadership
Theresa Eisinger / Recording Secretary
Tara Henkel
Cole Johnson
Erin Johnson / VP of Fellowship & Membership
Charles Jones
Jo-Eun Kang
Anita Keller
Vernon Kukowski / VP of Service
Aimee Kuntz
Trisha Loewen
Eric Lovaas / Public Relations Secretary
Alissa O’Dea / Treasurer
Emily Prouty
Janna Stevenson
Tanya Wetherelt / VP of Scholarship

2009 Inductees

2008 Inductees
Dan Gavinsky
Stephanie Haynie
Mandy Kuehn
Mindy Kuehn
Teresa Lenart
BreAnn Lytle
Brittany Ryan

2007 Inductees
Jessica Ayre
Thomas Barnick
Brandy Handran
Megan Lysford
Brandon Mooer
Ryan Pust
Dianna Thompson
Brenda Zang

2006 Inductees
Daniel Allison
Paige Anderson
Jessica Ayre
Mary Chase
Brandy Handran
Brandon Ihde
Anthony Jaramillo
Bobbie Mischel
Brandon Mooer
Melanie Nichols
Charles Rowland
Kyla Samuelson
Dianna Thompson

2005 Inductees
Ward Jackson
Karla Painter
Carrie Sokoloski
Erin Williams
Haley Zindler

2004 Inductees
Thaddeus Clevenger
Patty Copeland
Jared Edwards
Chelsea Gonas
Robert Hooper
Wanda Koffler
Jeffrey Smith
Mindy VerWolf

Oath of Membership

I,______________, do solemnly promise on this ________ day of ________ to uphold the standards of Phi Theta Kappa, and to keep this object and aim in my mind, and I do solemnly pledge allegiance to my fellow members and promise to aid them in all worthy endeavors.

Official Song

Give us wisdom, God, we pray

That our lives from day to day,

May reflect on all around us

That great gift which now has bound us.

For a band of seekers we

With our magic letters three

Phi Theta Kappa

Phi Theta Kappa